About us

The Department of Management (DOE) was created in 1986 as a result of the reorganisation of different groups of knowledge areas linked and with common synergies. This is one of the particularities of our unit, as its academic staff includes experts in the areas of management, economics, industrial organisation, law, information technology, technical architecture, among others.

We are present on all UPC campuses and in almost all schools and faculties, participating in the different bachelor's and master's degree programmes. You can consult its relevant research activity and transfer of results, as well as its participation in continuous training for professionals. The teaching staff attached to the Department also participate in the management of the UPC in different positions of responsibility.

However, a prestigious group of associate lecturers from the business world and public institutions collaborate with the academic activity, contributing their professional experience and allowing interaction with society and leading companies. 

Management Team


According to its regulations, the Department is structured into 6 sections:

SectionsHead of Section
Campus Diagonal-Besòs Josep Coll i Bertran
Campus Nord Joan Carles Gil Martin
Edificació  Juan Manuel Soriano Llobera
Industrials de Barcelona Jordi Olivella Nadal
Manresa Carla Vintró Sánchez
Terrassa  María José Saura Agel
Vilanova i la Geltrú Ariadna Llorens Garcia (en funcions)


Governing Bodies and Commissions

In the following webpage you can consult the compositions of the different governing bodies and commissions:

For more information, please consult the academic report for the 2021-2022 year.

The DOE in numbers

  • 54 Full-time PDI
  • 138Part-time PDI
  • 14Schools
  • 3PhD programs
  • 72 PhD candidates
  • 11 Lifelong learning courses